ONLY WHEN WE’RE LOST

Written on 17th June 2017

“Only when we’re lost can we find ourselves again.”

I bought a picture with this saying on it when I was lost. And now I’m sitting at the Dubai airport, heading to Indonesia, feeling like I’ve finally found myself.

If I didn’t get lost, I would never try to find myself. If I didn’t get lost, I would never fight for myself. Maybe I would not even learn to love myself. I would not go to live in the UK last summer, I would not change my attitude towards the whole world.

I would not be here.

I would be dreaming about future, about the future ME, the strong and independent and happy ME. But the thing about dreams is that they stay only dreams in so many cases. And I could have been one of them. I would spend my days dreaming about travelling the world, about living the life I wanted – without actually living it.

But I got lost. I got so lost that I had to start from a scratch. I was holding on to something which I based my existence on, I desired a life without it and yet I couldn’t let go. But before I could even stand up and find myself on my own (I doubt I would be able to do it at that time), I fell.

I was pushed. And that push was one of the best things that have ever happened to me.

The radio is playing the song I used to listen to when I didn’t even know who I was. And now more than ever I realise that sometimes we just need to get lost.

We need to get lost so we can become that person we have always wanted to be. We need to get lost so we can find ourselves again.

Denisa x

4 Comments Add yours

  1. your sentimental Archi says:

    aw, i’ll be quite sentimental right now BUT
    after reading this post i really want to remind you that i love you and to thank you for always being so YOU because even though it might get annoying at times, i really feel like i need this YOU in my life and in this world (and i’d say that i’m certainly not the only who feels that way)
    thank you for finding yourself and for fighting for it as it doesn’t only mean a lot to you but also to people around you, believe me

    – your #1 admirer & friend who’ll always be so much inspired by you

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you ♡♡♡ I love you too, my friend

      Like

  2. Marek Volf says:

    Your reflection reminds me one speech of one of most inspiring people of mine…
    “In other to find your way, you must get lost.” Charles Eisenstein. That was so impressive for me that I had to translate it to Czech.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for the video, I’ll definitely watch it. 🙂 I really do agree with this saying.

      Like

Leave a Reply

