7 REASONS WHY I LOVE THE HARRY POTTER BOOKS

I’ve always loved this awesome series by J. K. Rowling. I know many people who agree with me and many people who don’t really understand what is so interesting about magic books for children (well, it’s not just for children – that is the beauty of it).

I’ve decided to write down 7 reasons why I fell in love with these books and why I still can’t let go of them and I re-read them all over and over again. I like the films as well, so I’m going to illustrate my post with photos from the movies.

1. I GREW UP WITH THE BOOKS

MSDHAPO EC037

I first read Harry Potter when I was ten. We read it at school during our literature lessons and we stopped after the second book. I remember being always a few chapters ahead of the class as I was too curious to know what was going to happen. Then, I just kept on reading until the last book without my class slowing me down (I still now remember reading under the table during my lessons and making my teacher very angry about it).

I remember I loved it for being so magical and for making me feel like I was a part of the story. I even slept with the books a few times, hugging it instead of a teddy bear (I’ve always been a weirdo). After I closed the seventh book for the first time, I used to look out of the window and cry, hoping that Harry and his friends would come flying on their brooms and they would save me from the Muggle world. Well, that one didn’t happen, but I’ve been rereading the books ever since. They are a part of me because they made my childhood feel magical and special. And I kind of believe in magic ever since.

2. IT’S MY HOME

harry-potter-and-the-chamber-of-secrets-28

What I love about Hogwarts is that it’s a place I can always come back to. And it doesn’t even matter that the place doesn’t exist in our world (or does it?!) – it’s still like a second home. Everytime I don’t feel well or I don’t get along with people around me or whatever, I can just open one of the Harry Potter books and disappear. I can be in another world, I can be in Hogwarts with Harry, Ron, Hermione and so many other people. And whatever changes in my real life, Hogwarts are still the same. Hogwarts are always there for me, just the same as the Burrow and the Diagon Alley and the whole magical world.

3. THE ATMOSPHERE OF THE BOOKS

harrypotter3

And what exactly makes it feel like home?

I am always so grateful to Joanne Rowling for the amazing magical atmosphere that she was able to create. Her books are full of details that aren’t important for the main plot whatsoever, but they make the books what they truly are.

The feasts, the Sorting Hat’s songs, Mr. and Mrs. Weasley (and the whole Weasley family, to be honest), the crazy woman in the Hogwarts library (I always forget her name), Winky and Peeves, Divination lessons, the House-Elf Liberation Front and many more. I don’t know how Rowling did it but even reading about Harry and Ron doing their homeworks is amusing and awesome.

It’s the details that create this extraordinary atmosphere and it’s this extraordinary atmosphere that makes me feel like I’m a part of the story.

4. IT’S ALWAYS NEW TO ME

harry-potter-goblet-2

No matter how many times I’ve read Harry Potter, everytime I open the books there’s something new. It might be a joke I forgot or a realisation of something new about some character, but it’s always something. I can finish the seventh book and start reading the first one straight again and I’m 100% sure I will find something new that I didn’t see before.

It always makes me laugh at jokes I know I’ve read six times before, it makes me cry when somebody dies for a thousandth time, I get goose bumps while reading some parts all over and over again.

It’s always the same, yet new everytime I read it.

5. THE COMPLEXITY

potterphoenix61

THE COMPLEXITY OF THE CHARACTERS

What fascinates me is the difference between characters in the first three books and in the later ones. When Harry’s little, we see characters such as Snape or Dumbledore in a very different and simple light – they’re almost like caricatures. I think it really falls into place with Harry’s age – we see the world in a simpler way when we are younger.

But then he grows up and the older he gets, the more complex people around him are. Snape and Dumbledore turn out to be completely different people than we thought in the Philosopher’s Stone and every single character in the books feels real. Those people have so many various personality traits, so many opinions, the relationships are full of dynamics. Rowling knows how to write real people.

THE COMPLEXITY OF THE STORY

It always amazes me how complex the whole story is. There are so many plots aside from the main one and they’re all so interesting. Rowling must have planned many of those things before she even finished the first book – it’s all so linked, like puzzles. Some things always surprise me because they’re so elaborated. Harry Potter is not only a fairytale for children. It’s also a very complex story for adults.

6. IT’S MEANINGFUL

04413f867504b4c8f4de732edeb6fe87

It’s not only a story. There are so many thoughts and meanings in the books, I cannot even mention them all.

Harry Potter is about the power of friendship, it’s about how goodness and love can win over evil, it shows us that nothing is black-and-white (as we can see from the example of Dumbledore and Snape and many others). It’s inspirational, it’s educative, it’s meaningful.

“It is our choices, Harry, that show what we truly are, far more than our abilities.”

“If you want to know what a man’s like, take a good look at how he treats his inferiors, not his equals.”

“The world isn’t split into good people and Death Eaters. We’ve all got both light and dark inside us. What matters is the part we choose to act on. That’s who we really are.”

“We are all human, aren’t we? Every human life is worth the same, and worth saving.”

“Of course it is happening inside your head, Harry, but why on earth should that mean it is not real?”

7. IT’S GRIPPING

rehost201691378691e48-d137-4529-a2e8-fdc0683ff4e1

I’ve read the books at least five times each and I can tell you that it’s still so freaking gripping. I often catch myself turning the pages, biting my nails, waiting what will come next – although I already know it.

Also, Rowling’s vocabulary is very vast and interesting. I’ve read many other books in English before Harry Potter and nothing can be compared to J. K. Rowling’s vocabulary so far. I just admire and love her style of writing.

Harry Potter is not only a magical and amazing story, it’s also a quality piece of work and I love it for being a part of my life and for showing millions of people around the world that books are worth reading. Harry Potter changes peoples’ lives and it unites them.

I will be eternally grateful.

Denisa x

Btw. I’m on Bloglovin’ now!

<a href=”https://www.bloglovin.com/blog/19008709/?claim=e8u7ftbru3w”>Follow my blog with Bloglovin</a>

7 Comments Add yours

  1. Only seven?! Haha.
    Honestly, if someone would ever ask me why I love Harry Potter I’d just go “Because it’s freaking Harry Potter; what do you want me to say?!”
    There are so many reasons for loving these books, that I wouldn’t even try name them all.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Well, I totally agree with you, I have tried to name some of them so that people who don’t understand our obssesion had the chance to see why. But you’re totally right, I would never be able to name them all!!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. If they don’t understand, they should read them. Make them understand! They won’t ever ask again after that, haha.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. That’s true, haha. The trouble is that I have many friends who would like to do so but they never force themselves to open the book and start reading. It’s such a shame, they don’t have an idea what they’re missing.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Apparently not; tssh! Maybe you should convince them with rewards, haha. “If you read this book, I’ll buy you a drink so we can talk about it.” [By the time they’ve read it, they will be buying you that drink just to thank you for motivating them!]

        Liked by 2 people

      4. Haha that’s an excellent idea! I’ll try it out.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. ԜE WILL.? They both shouted and so they ran too the bеdroom ƅickering about who will get to ցoo first.

    Like

Leave a Reply

