VOLUNTEERING IN INDONESIA – BLUE LIFE

DOBROVOLNIČENÍ V INDONÉSII – BLUE LIFE

This summer I participated in a Czech project Prales dětem (something like Rainforest for children) in Indonesia and it was made of two parts – Green Life (you can read an article about it HERE) and Blue Life.

Blue Life focuses on oceans and so the main program is collecting garbage that is being thrown out of the sea onto beautiful beaches in the Pulau Banyak islands.

Today, I would like to present you my BLUE LIFE experience! Here we go!

DSCN4873

After a twelve hour ride in this cool car…

DSCN4668

…we boarded a boat and kept sailing for another 5 hours. But before we got out of the docks, there was a little surprise swimming in front of us!

DSCN4713DSCN4711

The little one got lost and it swam right to our boat, very confused. Its mom, however, swam right after it and they found the right way back to their herd.

Then, after a few more moments, we found ourselves on the open sea. And things were getting more and more beautiful.

DSCN4742DSCN4734DSCN4727DSCN4749

When I first saw our new home for the next week, I couldn’t believe my eyes.

DSCN4758DSCN4759

It was so beautiful. I felt like I had just entered into some expensive travel magazine or into someone’s wallpaper. It was quiet, hot and sunny, and a slight breeze made it all even better.

DSCN4761DSCN4777DSCN4794DSCN4878

I fell in love with those sunsets.

DSCN4805

AND those sunrises.

DSCN4816DSCN4818

Every morning felt like heaven. A year ago, I would have never imagined that one day I would have the chance to experience the immense beauty of such paradise.

DSCN4821

So what did we do during the week?

  1. We went for a walk around the island – it took us about an hour. We collected some garbage on the way. It wasn’t much because this island is being cleaned regularly by volunteers etc., but we still needed a few bags.

DSCN4825DSCN4863DSCN4877

We also saw the swamps on our way. They were created there by a huge tsunami in 2004 and nobody really knows what lives there. We were careful not to take bath in the sea during the night because the Saltwater crocodile could be there.

DSCN4833DSCN4838

I found the swamps really creepy. It was quiet as hell (and not the nice sort of silence, but the scary one when you feel like something is standing right behind you and it’s going to attack you any second) and the water was freaking hot. Like SO hot. I must admit it was a great relief to leave the swamps and return to the blue paradise.

2. We encountered some animals as well!

DSCN4823DSCN4812

Rius, our neigbour, has these lovely dogs. They run around the island as they please and they’re super friendly. Especially if you have some coconuts.

DSCN4800DSCN4795

The beach was full of hermit crabs. This made me so happy as I had never been to such a live beach before. Everytime we watched them from a distance, they were moving and it looked as if they were chatting and everything. But then we came closer and all of a sudden… silence. All of them hid into their tiny houses. And as soon as we went away, the beach was buzzing with life again. Just beautiful.

DSCN4853

There were also really big hermit crabs, especially in the swamps. It seemed to me like the swamps were something like their retirement home.

DSCN4851

Uhm, my friend told me what its name was. But I don’t remember it. She also said that this animal was quite rare. Or something… But it’s lovely!

DSCN4860

The crabs were everywhere. I could see so many holes in the sand and it was amazing to know that the crabs lived somewhere down there.

Even if you went quite far away from the others so you ended up on your own, you were never really alone. The beach was full of life.

3. We went to other islands to collect garbage.

DSCN6032

DSCN4881DSCN4888

And there was so much of it.

DSCN4889DSCN4890DSCN4891DSCN4895DSCN4896

It’s really terrible to see such paradise being destroyed by our ignorance and consumerism. And those freaking plastic cups. I swear to god they were EVERYWHERE. No more plastic cups, please!

DSCN4893

DSCN6061DSCN6087

 

Blue Life has provided these islands with bins and we were glad to see that people used them. At least something.

BUT! Then a man who lives on the island came to us and this encounter made my whole day better. He didn’t speak English but there was no need. He counted us and then climbed for nine coconuts. Just like that.

DSCN4900

He cut them open,

DSCN4905

gave them to us to drink and when there was no water left, he cut them in half and even made us a spoon from the coconut bark so we could eat them.

DSCN4909

He didn’t want anything in return. He didn’t do it for gain. He did it just because it made us happy. And after a while he even came back with two mangos and we shared them (I must mention that these were the best mangos in my entire life, those from Europe have nothing in common with the real and fresh ones).

I think it’s amazing how one man can teach us such a lesson in life without even saying a word. Be less selfish and more generous, that’s what makes your life worth living.

DSCN4914The island looked so much better without all the horrible garbage.

DSCN6092

4. Oh, and we also helped with taking care of the camp!

20370824_1475600859129095_468671673_n

Uhm… that was a break from work.

5. We snorkeled. I had never really snorkeled before and I think this was the perfect place to start. The underwater world was another piece of magic.

SCAN_20170808_172711923SCAN_20170808_172932003SCAN_20170808_172932003_002

We saw lots of fish from Looking for Nemo, even Nemo himself! The corals were alive and the fish were just everywhere around you. I’ve fallen in love with snorkeling.

DSCN4925

This is us trying to create BLUE LIFE in Indonesian. It didn’t go well. But everyone’s in there and that’s important. (But I think Káťa is missing… why is Káťa always missing?!)

The week passed in a rapid speed and then we had to say goodbye to Pulau Banyak islands.

DSCN4987DSCN4984

Then we spent one day in Medan, the capital of Sumatra, which was faar away from heaven. Actually, I’d say it was the exact opposite.

DSCN5004DSCN5014

But at least we had a ride in tuk-tuk.

DSCN4997

DSC_9726DSC_9729

And we had an amazing and super cheap vegan meal.

DSC_9736

 

As in my GREEN LIFE post, I would like to thank Prales dětem, this time for cleaning the piece of heaven on Earth and for devoting their lives to helping our planet.

During our GREEN&BLUE journey we experienced what it really feels like to live with the nature. We saw it in all its glory and we also saw how human kind tries to destroy it. All that beauty, all that freedom, all that Life. GREEN&BLUE project has taught me a great deal.

As the coconut man has showed us – be less selfish, more generous.

DSCN4808.JPG

Denisa x

22 Comments Add yours

  1. karinbrauner says:

    that looks amazing! beautiful photos! and you were there for a great cause as well! I hope to do something like that in the future 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! Definitely do it, it’s worth it. It will change you as a person, even if just for a bit. 🙂

      Like

  2. kellyypricee says:

    This looks so beautiful! I’ve never been to Bali but I’ve never seen a picture that wasn’t easy on the eyes! I’ll have to check it out!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It does, doesn’t it? 🙂 It’s not in Bali, actually it’s close to Sumatra, which is not very turistic. Only a few people were there. 🙂

      Like

  3. Wow! That’s really meaningful experience. Love that!!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. This experience sounds life changing and absolutely amazing! The pics are stunning. I went to Indonesia myself, but backpacking by myself and I have come back a different person…there is something magical there, the people, the life style, the smiles… Well done to you for this great experience!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you a lot! Yes, Indonesia is amazing and the project as well. 🙂 It absolutely changed me.

      Like

  5. You, Me & DC says:

    Sounds like SUCH a fun experience! I just got back from two months in Indonesia for work and you definitely had more fun than I did! I didn’t spend nearly enough time on the beach!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hahaha, that’s such a shame! But I’m sure you enjoyed some other things 🙂 And hey, you can come back and next time you can visit such paradise!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Karlie says:

    What a gorgeous island! And those water buffalo (?) are so cute. Not sure I’d last for 12 hours in that car, though!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know! Haha, well I’m not gonna lie, it wasn’t the best ride of my life. But I would suffer through such rides all over and over again if it meant that I could go back. 🙂

      Like

  7. Yudith says:

    Wow, you are amazing girl.And kindness. I read this article coz I’m from Indonesia. Thx for your nice article. I know also pulau banyak.It’s one part of aceh island. Turtle conservation is there. And about Medan (I’m from Medan but now living in India), yeah medan is teribble right now. Traffic, too many malls and too much hot anyway. I also know tuktuk-samosir, many times I went there for holiday. It’s such a beautiful place. Thx for making my country clean, Dear. Good bless u!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much! Indonesia is a beautiful country and we should do our best to make it clean and beautiful for other generations and for the nature. 🙂

      Like

  8. Marek Volf says:

    Hope, I will experience Blue Life project soon. I was with the two last volunteer groups where “only” rainforest part was included. Anyway, I would not change the whole month in jungle. It was so influential.

    There are more people here that are interested in the project. I would recommend this short poetical document about Blue Life…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Both parts of the project are very beautiful. 🙂

      Like

      1. Marek Volf says:

        And here brand new video from January 2017.

        Liked by 1 person

  9. spektakel.id says:

    Superb experiences! Absolutely love it!

    Liked by 2 people

      1. If you feel that much then please check out my blogs new look 🙂 thanks

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

