ACROSS SLOVAKIA IN 5 DAYS FOR 60€ (part 1)

KOLEM SLOVENSKA ZA 60€ V PĚTI DNECH

I’m going to split this post into three parts because otherwise it would be too long.

PART ONE: Introduction, THE FIRST DAY – Bratislava

PART TWO: THE SECOND DAY – Košice

PART THREE: THE THIRD DAY – the Slovak Paradise, THE FOURTH DAY – Žilina, THE LAST DAY – Bojnice

PART ONE

I’m from the Czech Republic, which used to be Czechoslovakia once. And the funny thing is, I don’t really know any of these two countries, although I live here. I had never taken any interest in the Czech Republic nor Slovakia, I had always wanted to go away as fast as possible. Until.

Until I realised that there was so much to see. Until I saw strangers who adored the Czech Republic and Slovakia. Until I found out that it was worth to give it a try. You never try, you never know, right?

DSCN5146.JPG

And so my friend Veronika and I have planned a short trip across Slovakia, our lovely neighbour. But. We really wanted to make this trip on a small budget because we’re poor students. (*crying*) And so we’ve decided to spend as less as possible.

In the end, it cost each of us only about 60 euros! Impossible? Well, I’ve decided to create a little list so you could see our expenses. Before we begin, I would like to mention that Veronika and I have the privilege to use the train transport for free in the Czech Republic AND Slovakia, because our parents work with trains. That gave us, of course, a huge advantage as we didn’t need to spend so much money on the transport. Nevertheless, I believe that there are many other ways of travelling cheaply.

OUR EXPENSES FOR ONE PERSON:

  1. TRANSPORT
    • 4 buses – 3.7 €
    • a bed in the night train from Bratislava to Košice – 11.5 €
    • trains – for free
  2. FOOD
    • beans, crackers, nut bars etc. that we had bought before the journey and that we had taken with us – 6 €
    • the food or coffee on the way – 14.5 €
  3. ACCOMODATION
    • two nights in a camp (we brought our own tent) – 12.5 €
    • one night in a three star boarding house (which was very lovely and we had our own room with two beds) – 12.5 €

Alright, it’s 60.7 but those seventy cents don’t really count. The name would otherwise sound stupid. Uhm.

As you can see, travelling in Slovakia is really cheap. And it’s totally worth it!

THE FIRST DAY – BRATISLAVA

DSCN5096.JPG

It lasts only about 7 hours to get from Most, our home town (which is in the north-western part of Czechia), to Bratislava – the capital of Slovakia. And so we hopped on an early train and we arrived there by two P.M. already!

DSCN5021.JPG

E-book reader is one of travel essentials for nerds like us! You won’t drag me anywhere without a book, I swear it for this night and all the nights to come.

We were really lucky that my friend (whom I met in INDONESIA) grew up in Bratislava and he offered us to be our guide for one day. He picked us at the train station, he bought us food, ice cream (they even had a vegan option), an iced tea, a ticket for a tram, he even drove us in his car all around the city. We didn’t have to pay one single cent. He really is one of the most generous and amazing people in the world! Thank you, Lukáš!

20292106_10211583348811152_1528181938_n.jpg

We’ve seen the Bratislava Castle,

 

 

Slavín, which is a hill with graves of Russian warriors,

 

 

the building of Slovak Radio,

DSCN5074.JPG

the President’s Palace,

 

 

It was reaally hot that day, it was.

the centre of the city,

 

 

the ball which, according to the tale, was shot from Napoleon’s cannon,

DSCN5160DSCN5162DSCN5165

and the man at work.

DSCN5180.JPG

We had an amazing ice cream,

DSCN5186DSCN5185

and we visited some other places. Lukáš told us many interesting stories and the atmosphere of the city was very friendly. I don’t like cities that are too crowded – and Bratislava was nothing like that. It’s a city full of life, but the quiet and calming one. I really appreciated that.

 

 

Lukáš then took us to a coffee place in a high tower from which you can see the whole Bratislava.

DSCN5239.JPG

After that, Lukáš even took us to his place, he cooked for us and we could take a shower. And at eleven P.M. he drove us back to the train station. He’s just the best guide in the history of the world.

We got on our night train from Bratislava to Košice, which I found so exciting! The beds were comfortable and I know it’s ridiculous but it really felt like a big adventure because I’m not used to sleeping in a bed when I’m on A TRAIN. The bouncing was soothing and I love the feeling that I’m heading somewhere, so it was a really good sleep. I don’t even care that I woke up like a thousand times.

20401004_1475602539128927_753302420_n.jpg

You can read about the second day in my NEXT POST.

Denisa x

10 Comments Add yours

  1. Sarah says:

    Wow free train travel for families is a great employee perk! Slovenia looks beautiful and I love your photos. Awesome work on the budget too – you’ve taught me a thing or two about where savings can be made while travelling.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It is, isn’t it? Thank you so much, I’m glad you found it useful. 🙂

      Like

    2. Marek Volf says:

      Sarah: I just notice that not Slovenia but Slovakia. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  2. tashyie says:

    Wow thats amazingly cheap! Good job. I hear it can be hard to keep expenses down when traveling in European countries, but you’ve done awesome

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! It depends on which country you’re travelling to. Eastern countries and the Czech Republic are very cheap. 🙂

      Like

  3. I love budget breakdowns when people do stuff so cheap! Just puts everything into perspective 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Marek Volf says:

    Great tip that the key point for cheap traveling could be to simply travelling itself that gives you contacts for other travelers that give you tips for other and other places and sometimes they make tutors. :-).

    In my opinion, this is much more comfortable than by bus, and option for night trains is great. Once I decided to travel by night train for business trip to Switzerland and back instead of plane (between Vienna and Zurich). I agree that it feels like adventurous, definitely if you are travelling alone, so I was in cabin with some Korean guy. I don’t drink alcohol yet but I have to say that Korean whisky from bamboo tastes really good. 😀

    It’s great to have parents employed in railways. You’re lucky girl! 🙂
    I love travelling by train, especially with this song in my ears.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Marek Volf says:

      Also Slovak Radio inverted pyramid is amazing. I would definitely recommend merge the visit of Bratislava with music event Pohoda_FM. Architecture of concert hall is really unique and sound absolutelly brilliant – best I’ve ever heard! Like from CD. 😀


      Here page of Pohoda_FM broadcast…
      https://www.facebook.com/pohodafm/

      Liked by 1 person

    2. I loove trains, I guess it’s my favourite kind of transport, especially when I can travel for free, haha.
      Thank you for your comment. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

